Oh Sweet Heavens of Books//Popular RM5 Book Fiesta

This book sale was heaven. Paperbacks, hardbacks, graphic novels and everything were all priced at RM 5 (~US$ 1.22). I roamed around the rows and rows of books laid on the table, eyes scanning each and every title. There were just so many to pick from. I placed every book that caught my eye in the … Continue reading Oh Sweet Heavens of Books//Popular RM5 Book Fiesta

Tsars and Magic//The Crown’s Game Review

The Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter … Continue reading Tsars and Magic//The Crown’s Game Review

Where Are The Zombies? // Zom-B Review

Zom-B by Darren Shan Genre: Horror "Zom-B is a radical new series about a zombie apocalypse, told in the first person by one of its victims. The series combines classic Shan action with a fiendishly twisting plot and hard-hitting and thought-provoking moral questions dealing with racism, abuse of power and more. This is challenging material, … Continue reading Where Are The Zombies? // Zom-B Review

Book Review: Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Night Film by Marisha Pessl Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker. On a damp October night, beautiful young … Continue reading Book Review: Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Book Review: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #2)

Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents' invention, to cross into alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse—even hurting the people she loves. She resists until … Continue reading Book Review: Ten Thousand Skies Above You by Claudia Gray (Firebird #2)

Book Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

A Thousand Pieces of You (Firebird #1) by Claudia Gray Genre: Young Adult, Science Fiction Cloud Atlas meets Orphan Black in this epic dimension-bending trilogy by New York Times bestselling author Claudia Gray about a girl who must chase her father's killer through multiple dimensions. Marguerite Caine's physicist parents are known for their groundbreaking achievements. … Continue reading Book Review: A Thousand Pieces of You by Claudia Gray

Ilvermorny and Hogwarts House Sorting!

I was a Gryffindor before, and when they reset the Pottermore website (click here to visit the wonderful Pottermore!), I got sorted into Ravenclaw. Today, I took the house sorting quiz once more and got... *drumroll please* Hufflepuffs value hard work, patience, loyalty, and fair play. The house has produced its share of great wizards … Continue reading Ilvermorny and Hogwarts House Sorting!

Book Review: A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston

A Thousand Nights by E.K. Johnston Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Retellings Lo-Melkhiin killed three hundred girls before he came to her village, looking for a wife. When she sees the dust cloud on the horizon, she knows he has arrived. She knows he will want the loveliest girl: her sister. She vows she will not … Continue reading Book Review: A Thousand Nights by E. K. Johnston