The Song Girls // To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Book Review

To All the Boys I've Loved Before by Jenny Han Book 1 out of 3 Genre: Young Adult Contemporary Goodreads Author's Website Book Depository // Amazon        2.5 / 5 stars First of all, this was an insanely fast read, the chapters were short and the writing was simple. It was an easy … Continue reading The Song Girls // To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before Book Review

Advertisements

Blue Goddesses and Dreams//Strange the Dreamer Review

Strange the Dreamer by Laini Taylor Genre: Fantasy, Young Adult The dream chooses the dreamer, not the other way around - and Lazlo Strange, war orphan and junior librarian, has always feared that his dream chose poorly. Since he was five years old he's been obsessed with the mythic lost city of Weep, but it … Continue reading Blue Goddesses and Dreams//Strange the Dreamer Review

Born with Human Hearts//The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender Review

The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton Genre: Young Adult, Magical Realism, Fantasy Magical realism, lyrical prose, and the pain and passion of human love haunt this hypnotic generational saga. Foolish love appears to be the Roux family birthright, an ominous forecast for its most recent progeny, Ava Lavender. Ava—in all … Continue reading Born with Human Hearts//The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender Review

Not The Brightest Flame//Ice Like Fire Review

Ice Like Fire by Sara Raasch Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy It’s been three months since the Winterians were freed and Spring’s king, Angra, disappeared—thanks largely to the help of Cordell. Meira just wants her people to be safe. When Cordellan debt forces the Winterians to dig their mines for payment, they unearth something powerful and … Continue reading Not The Brightest Flame//Ice Like Fire Review

Even the Strongest Blizzards Start with a Single Snowflake//Snow Like Ashes Review

Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now the Winterians' only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal … Continue reading Even the Strongest Blizzards Start with a Single Snowflake//Snow Like Ashes Review

Oh Sweet Heavens of Books//Popular RM5 Book Fiesta

This book sale was heaven. Paperbacks, hardbacks, graphic novels and everything were all priced at RM 5 (~US$ 1.22). I roamed around the rows and rows of books laid on the table, eyes scanning each and every title. There were just so many to pick from. I placed every book that caught my eye in the … Continue reading Oh Sweet Heavens of Books//Popular RM5 Book Fiesta

Tsars and Magic//The Crown’s Game Review

The Crown's Game by Evelyn Skye Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters—the only two in Russia—and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter … Continue reading Tsars and Magic//The Crown’s Game Review

Where Are The Zombies? // Zom-B Review

Zom-B by Darren Shan Genre: Horror "Zom-B is a radical new series about a zombie apocalypse, told in the first person by one of its victims. The series combines classic Shan action with a fiendishly twisting plot and hard-hitting and thought-provoking moral questions dealing with racism, abuse of power and more. This is challenging material, … Continue reading Where Are The Zombies? // Zom-B Review

Book Review: Night Film by Marisha Pessl

Night Film by Marisha Pessl Genre: Mystery, Fiction, Thriller A page-turning thriller for readers of Stephen King, Gillian Flynn, and Stieg Larsson, Night Film tells the haunting story of a journalist who becomes obsessed with the mysterious death of a troubled prodigy—the daughter of an iconic, reclusive filmmaker. On a damp October night, beautiful young … Continue reading Book Review: Night Film by Marisha Pessl