Even the Strongest Blizzards Start with a Single Snowflake//Snow Like Ashes Review

24331409

Snow Like Ashes

by

Sara Raasch

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

Sixteen years ago the Kingdom of Winter was conquered and its citizens enslaved, leaving them without magic or a monarch. Now the Winterians’ only hope for freedom is the eight survivors who managed to escape, and who have been waiting for the opportunity to steal back Winter’s magic and rebuild the kingdom ever since.

Orphaned as an infant during Winter’s defeat, Meira has lived her whole life as a refugee. Training to be a warrior—and desperately in love with her best friend, Winter’s future king—she would do anything to help Winter rise to power again.

So when scouts discover the location of the ancient locket that can restore Winter’s magic, Meira decides to go after it herself—only to find herself thrust into a world of evil magic and dangerous politics—and ultimately comes to realize that her destiny is not, never has been, her own.

PicsArt_1472638177723

5 stars

5/5 stars

There are books that I regret not picking up sooner, and there are books that I own the entire series before even reading the first book to see whether I’ll like it, there are also books which have countless tabs stuck to the pages. Snow Like Ashes is all 3 of them.

I love being addicted to a novel, it’s the feeling when you forgot the number of pages you’ve turned, the moment when everything fades away and all you can see is the world the author created, it’s the kind of addiction which keeps you up till 3am even though you’re already tired on that day. I did expect myself to like Snow Like Ashes but I did not expect myself to love it so much.

This was such a fast paced read, every chapter has something going on and there was not a moment in which I felt bored. It was not so much about the romance even though the blurb placed focus on it, it was about our main character Meira who is the definition of determination and courage. Meira was an orphan who was one of the very few refugees from the war that raged in her kingdom, Winter. She is determined to do anything and everything for Winter. Throughout the book, I was in awe by how determined and motivated Meira was. Yes, there are so many strong female characters in other novels so why is Meira so special?

Her inner monolog struck me the hardest. I felt her pain, her joy and her flames (well, her blizzard if I could put it that way). I have so many tabs stuck to this book on paragraphs about her strength and courage. Yes, she does love someone else but she knows what she has to do, she knows the consequences and learns to live by that. She might be stubborn but she is quick to understand and she stands up for herself and her kingdom no matter the harsh consequences that might follow. We need more people like Meira, people who are so dedicated to what they love, people who understand the world and its conforming society, and people who want to make a change.

I cling to that image, to anything that will help me remember that I am Meira, and they cannot take that away from me.

Meira did not do this alone either, she may be strong but the people around her were part of what made her strong. I love the sense of community in this novel, how everybody was united. I love the other characters, especially Theron, one part of the love triangle which I’m actually not annoyed by. He motivates Meira in a way that made me realize how powerful someone else’s presence and words can be.

There will always be a they in your new life, Meira. They make decisions; they mold your future. The trick is to find a way to still be you through it all

The plot was by no means, without flaws but it was pretty darn perfect in my eyes. There was not a complete ‘WOW’ moment for me because it does have the typical YA fantasy features such as a love triangle but I still enjoyed it immensely because of the values it holds and how well written the novel was.

This is a fantasy novel that I will never forget, it was so flipping entertaining and such a fun read. Definitely a book that I would recommend to everyone I know.

Even the strongest blizzards start with a single snowflake.

Links:

Goodreads

Sara Raasch’s website

Book Depository

 

Leave a Reply

